Subscribe Our Daily Job Alerts on WhatsApp

?Step Closer to Your Dream Job: ?Subscribe for Daily Vacancies News and Transform Your Life.

Join Now
Music Lifestyle Zimbabwe News

Zimbabwe Music Awards (ZIMA) 2023 Showcases the Finest Talents

Zimbabwe Music Awards ZIMA
Written by Vacancy Mail

Zimbabwe Music Awards 2023 || ZIMA Awards 2023 Winner List || ZIMA Music Awards 2023 

Celebrating Excellence: Zimbabwe Music Awards (ZIMA) 2023 Showcases the Finest Talents

The stage was set, the anticipation palpable, as Zimbabwe’s music elite gathered on the 3rd of June in Harare for the highly anticipated Zimbabwe Music Awards (ZIMA) 2023. In a resounding celebration of creativity and musical prowess, artists from various genres came together to vie for the coveted awards, marking yet another milestone in the nation’s vibrant music scene.

A Spectrum of Categories and Nominees: Zimbabwe Music Awards (ZIMA) 2023

With 25 categories spanning across the musical spectrum, the Zimbabwe Music Awards showcased the rich diversity of talent that Zimbabwe has to offer. From Song of the Year to Best Female Artist of the Year, Best Male Artist of the Year, Best Group/Duo of the Year, and Producer of the Year, each category was a testament to the depth and breadth of the nation’s musical landscape.

Among the frontrunners, Saintfloew and Leo Magozz stood out with nominations in four categories each. Their versatility and artistry were on full display as they competed for the titles of Best Hip Hop and Song of the Year.

Freeman HKD, Feli Nandi, and Gemma also shone bright with their nominations in three categories each. Their contributions to Best Album of the Year, Best Afropop/Afrofusion, and Best Collaboration categories exemplified their dedication to pushing musical boundaries.

A Tapestry of Genres: Zimbabwe Music Awards (ZIMA) 2023

The nominations also highlighted the rich tapestry of genres that make up Zimbabwe’s musical mosaic. Fusion 5 Mangwiro and The Vine garnered recognition for their exceptional talents in the Best Group/Duo of the Year and Best Jazz categories. Meanwhile, Vabati VaJehova, known for their harmonious melodies, secured a nod for Best Group/Duo of the Year.

A true icon of Zimbabwean music, Alick Macheso, was honored with nominations in the Best Album of the Year and Best Sungura categories. And not to be overlooked, Indosakusa’s nominations for Best Group/Duo of the Year and Best Traditional reflected their dedication to preserving and celebrating Zimbabwe’s rich cultural heritage.

The Art of Selection: Zimbabwe Music Awards (ZIMA) 2023

The Zimbabwe Music Awards’ selection process was a delicate balance between the industry’s best and the artists’ voice. While the top five categories, including Best Female Artist of the Year, Best Male Artist of the Year, Best Group or Duo of the Year, Best Newcomer of the Year, and Best Album of the Year, were closed nominations selected by ZIMA, the rest were submitted by artists themselves. The period from March 13, 2023, to April 14, 2023, marked the submission phase, encompassing music released between January 1 and December 31, 2022.

The Unveiling of the Victors: Zimbabwe Music Awards (ZIMA) 2023

As the curtains rise and the spotlight shines, the Zimbabwe Music Awards ceremony promises an unforgettable evening of celebration. It’s a time to honor the trailblazers, the genre-defying artists, and the visionaries who use music to bridge cultures and touch hearts.

With the diverse range of categories, the Zimbabwe Music Awards 2023 winners’ list is a testament to the nation’s musical brilliance. From the rhythmic grooves of Zimdancehall to the soul-stirring melodies of Gospel, the winners’ circle represents the culmination of talent, dedication, and passion that define Zimbabwe’s musical landscape.

As the Zimbabwe Music Awards 2023 winners are announced, we’re reminded of the power of music to uplift, inspire, and unite, transcending boundaries and creating a harmonious symphony that resonates with hearts across the nation and beyond.

Here are the winners of Zimbabwe Music Awards 2023

Song of the Year

  • Leo Maggoz – Fire Emoji Remix
  • Saintfloew – Silas Mavende
  • Vakomana VeDrip – Freeman HKD [WINNER]
  • Ndoona Iwe – Feli Nandi
  • Lola Ishan

Best Male Artist of the Year

  • Mark Ngwazi
  • Freeman HKD [WINNER]
  • Saintfloew
  • Leo Magozz

Best Female Artist of the Year

  • Feli Nandi [WINNER]
  • Dorcas Moyo
  • Janet Manyowa
  • Gemma

Best Group/Duo of the Year

  • Fusion 5 Mangwiro
  • The Vine
  • Vabati VaJehova
  • Indosakusa [WINNER]

Best Album of the Year

  • Izwi – Feli Nandi
  • Tinosvitswa Nashe – Alick Macheso
  • David & Goliath – Freeman HKD [WINNER]
  • Bvudzi Rangu Ramera – Docus Moyo

Best Zimdancehall

  • Guspy Warrior
  • King Shaddy
  • Freeman HKD [WINNER]
  • Ricky Fire

Best Sungura

  • Leonard Karikoga Zhakata
  • Mark Ngwazi [WINNER]
  • D.T BIO Mudimba
  • Alick Macheso

Best Afropop / Afrofusion

  • Feli Nandi
  • Msizkay
  • Gemma
  • Ishan [WINNER]

Best Hip Hop

  • Saintfloew [WINNER]
  • Leo Magozz
  • Hillzy
  • Scripmula

Best Collaboration

  • Freeman HKD Featuring Chris Martin – Zimbabwean Queen
  • Gemma Featuring Enzo Ishall – Huya Tinamate
  • Leo Magozz Featuring Various Artists – Fire Emoji Remix [WINNER]
  • Ishan Featuring Annatoria – Lola

Best Contemporary Gospel

  • Andrea The Vocalist
  • Janet Manyowa [WINNER]
  • Everton Mlalazi
  • The Vine

Best Traditional Gospel

  • Vabati VaJohovha
  • Dorcas Moyo [WINNER]
  • Benny Hadassah Muzanamombe
  • Mannerz

Best RnB & Soul

  • Nox
  • Blue Rose
  • Kim Makumbe
  • Nyasha Timbe [WINNER]

Best Jazz

  • Agga Nyabinde
  • Breeze Music
  • Josh Meck [WINNER]
  • Fusion 5 Mangwiro

Best Dance (House, Amapiano, Kwaito, EDM)

  • La Dee
  • Leslie Kampila [WINNER]
  • King 98
  • Master Zhou

Best Music Video

  • Gemma – Huya Tinamate
  • Janet Manyowa – Vaudze [WINNER]
  • Freeman – Robbery
  • Hillzy – Nharo

Best Videographer

  • Mitch Uta
  • Sly Pro
  • Studio Art Pictures [WINNER]
  • Director AM

Best Diaspora

  • Nox
  • Dr Chaii [WINNER]
  • Vusa Mkhaya
  • Mlue Jay

Best Tshibilika

  • Clement Magwaza
  • Madlela Skhobokhobo
  • Ezokubhimba
  • Insimbi Zezhwane [WINNER]

Best Traditional (Chinyakare, Chimurenga)

  • Brity Yonly
  • Mazarura
  • Mary Anibal [WINNER]
  •  Othnell Mangoma Moyo

Best Folore Traditional (Chinyakare, Chimurenga)

  • Ndosakusa
  • Skhosana Bhuhlungu
  • Amaqaqa  [WINNER]

Best Alternative

  • Jeys Marabini
  • Msizkay
  • MJ Sings
  • Feli Nandi [WINNER]

Producer of the year

  • Alicious
  • Nyasha Timbe
  • Chillspot Records
  • Oskid [WINNER]

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Tymon ‘Whitehorse’ Mabaleka

About the author

Vacancy Mail

Leave a Comment